Dr. Michel Van Aerde Memorial Transportation Scholarship


michelvanaerdeIn August 1999, the Canadian transportation engineering profession lost one of its leaders when Dr Michel Van Aerde died suddenly at the age of 39. Michel had graduated from the University of Waterloo with his Bachelor, Masters and PhD degrees. He went on to a distinguished career in research and teaching in transportation engineering and was recognized as an international authority in his field.

To honour Michel’s memory, the Canadian Institute of Transportation Engineers (CITE, now ITE Canada) established a memorial scholarship. The aim of this award is to encourage students to obtain PhD degrees in transportation engineering and hopefully go on to teach the next generation of engineers.

To be eligible for the annual $3,000 award, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • be registered as full-time students in a transportation doctorate-level program at a Canadian university
  • be a member of ITE
  • Canadian citizens or Permanent Resident
  • Submission of transcripts, 2 academic references

Recipients of the Dr. Michel Van Aerde scholarship also receive free registration to the annual conference (in the year of the award), reimbursement of travel expenses (up to $1000 if recipient resides outside of conference region, up to $100 if recipient resides within conference region), and recognition at the Annual Awards Luncheon.

The University of Waterloo generously administers the fund, and issues charitable tax receipts to donors.

Application deadline is March 1st.

Applications will open in the Fall of 2023

For further information, contact us.

Past recipients:

2022 – Jacob Lamb, University of Calgary
2021 – Maged Gouda, University of Alberta
2020 – Iyad Sahnoon, University of Calgary
2019 – Mohamed Essa, University of British Columbia
2018 – Seiran Heshami, University of Calgary
2017 – Andrew Northmore, University of New Brunswick
2016 – Hamed Shahrokhi Shahraki
2015 – Maryam Moshiri
2014 – Soroush Salek Moghaddam
2013 – Bidoura Khondaker
2012 – Akram Nour
2011 – David Duoung
2010 – Samah El-Tantawy
2009 – Garreth Rempel
2008 – Muhammed Ahsanul Habib
2007 – Jonathan Regehr
2006 – Khander Habib
2005 – Laurel Richl
2004 – James Smith