Canadian Collegiate Traffic Bowl

Traffic Bowl is a competition amongst ITE student chapters, similar to the TV game show Jeopardy, but with transportation planning and engineering topics for clues, questions, and answers. The objectives of Traffic Bowl are to encourage students to become more active members of ITE, enhance their knowledge of the transportation engineering and planning profession and of ITE itself, and strengthen the programs of the ITE student chapters.

The Competition

The complete rules and instructions for Traffic Bowl are provided by ITE International and can be found here.

The winning team of the Canadian Traffic Bowl goes on to compete against other District winners at the annual Grand Championship held as part of the ITE International Annual Meeting. Three members and an alternate of each District’s winning team will be given a travel grant and complimentary registration to attend the ITE Annual Meeting. The team who wins the Grand Championship will receive $2,000 (US).

Fun Fact

The first-ever Grand Championship Traffic Bowl was held on Canadian soil in 2010 when we hosted the ITE Annual Meeting in Vancouver, BC. That year, more than 135 student members of ITE on student teams from 46 universities in the United States and Canada competed in nine district-level events leading up to the Grand Championship in Vancouver.

Traffic Bowl Committee

ITE Canada is always interested in volunteers to participate on the Traffic Bowl District Committee to assist with both organizational duties as well as developing the series of Traffic Bowl questions for our upcoming competitions. If you are interested in participating on this Committee, let us know at

If you have any Traffic Bowl-related questions, please contact us.

Register your team now for Winnipeg!

Past Canadian District Winning Teams:

2022 – University of Manitoba
2021 – University of British Columbia (Virtual event)
2020 – York University (Virtual event)
2019 – University of Alberta
2018 – University of Manitoba
2017 – McMaster University
2016 – University of Manitoba
2015 – University of Manitoba
2014 – University of Toronto
2013 – University of Manitoba
2012 – University of Toronto
2011 – University of Toronto
2010 – University of Manitoba